Happy 2011 from the world's worst (or best) procrastinator ever!
Life has been passing by like a blur the past few days. One minute, there were fireworks in the sky and the next thing I knew, twenty-four days have gone by. I can't even begin to enumerate all the things that have been happening lately. For one, they're basically boring stuff like sleeping when I should have been studying and driving in absolutely crazy traffic jams and getting stuck in an intersection for about ten minutes because all drivers are basically insane and because the traffic enforcers were having their snacks.
But then let me enumerate the more interesting stuff, such as:
Moving to Holliwood!!!
Well, technically, it's still Holliwood. My new address is Holliwood St, D Homes, M City. We moved at the end of last year. It's one of those social housing units where ALL the houses LOOK ALIKE except for those units owned by ridiculously rich people who can afford to renovate their homes.
Our house has the barest of necessities. Our only real luxury is the new refrigerator we bought on New Year's eve so we could have Mango Float for dessert during the Media Noche.
I'm still trying to adjust. It's been basically crazy. I'm doing stuff like waking up at 5 am and driving to school by 6 am, arriving at school by 6.30 am and sleeping in the car till 8 am. The traffic is driving me nuts. By the time I get home from school, I am so tired that it takes all my strength to climb up the stairs and collapse on the bed.
In addition, I now have to do my laundry (and the towels and the bedsheets) and cook (or coerce my brother into preparing the food), wash dishes, wash the car, tidy up the place, etc. I am behind the washing and there's still a mountain of clothes to iron. The only thing I enjoy about all this is doing the grocery.
And to top it all, I still have to keep my grades up. *Sigh*
I am so drained that I have come to the point of buying vitamins and actually taking them instead of letting them expire or get molds or something! That's how drastic the changes have been.
But in a way, I'm glad we moved into our own place. I like having a place to call "home" and being able to invite my friends for sleep-overs and practicing my housewifely skills and all that. It's like a practical exam for the day I'd have my own home. I hope I pass.
With the way things are going, I kind of doubt it. Right now I'm blogging when I was supposed to be studying, my brother is doing his assignment, and the meat is slowly being defrozen. It will probably take another half hour to thaw. It's 8.30 pm and I'm hungry. Looks like we'll be eating at 9.30 again.
Oh, well. Practice makes perfect.
:)
Note: The waking up at 5 am is a bit of exaggeration. Well, the truth is, we did exactly that the first week of school because Mama was still around to make breakfast and bully us into taking baths in freezing water. Now that she's back home, my siblings and I are back to waking up late (6 am) and not eating breakfast.